Friday, January 2, 2009

Holy 2009, Batman!

Hello everyone! I hope all have been well. Christmas was a good time: Kimberly, Richard and I had Christmas Eve at the in-laws, opening presents surrounded by screaming children and just enough wine to go around. Then we went over to Mom and Dad's house. It was 9:45 p.m. when we got there, but hey, you gotta feed the baby and make sure he's gotten in his second nap, or else you'll have Cranky McPoopypants on your hands.
We had hoped to get in a Christmas Eve service at Bonsack Baptist, like good Christians would do, but we didn't watch the clock and things just got away from us.
Christmas morning was great: Mama Q (my mother in law) made eggs, biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, and a fruit salad (and it would have been fine if that was the only gift she gave me). Richard stared amorously at his new toys, including the Fisher Price Singing Stage, which he babbles at every night now. Kimberly is very excited about the waffle maker I bought her, and her oversized Vera Wang purse for girly stuff and baby stuff. I got "Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles" for the Wii. Katie came down from Maryland, and I think she's still in town right now. Justin came down on New Years' Eve, a few days after Kimberly, Richard and I had gone back up to Gainesville to restart business as usual. It stinks I didn't get to see Justin, as he's a hell of a great guy, and he makes my sister happier than she's ever been.
It also stunk that I didn't see my Uncle Marc. However, I am proud he stepped up to let his bartender with a wife and family take Christmas Eve and Day off to spend with his family. Uncle Marc is my mom's brother, and he's been divorced twice. I don't know why; he seems like quite a catch to me.
I worked Tuesday, Wednesday, and today. Monday was a good housecleaning day, and I spent a big chunk of yesterday hammering away at Umbrella Chronicles. Damn good game. It would be easier with two players, because some of those bosses are really hard. I'm hoping Stevedogg will come up to visit soon and we can tackle those bastards.
So, my New Year's resolution is the typical lose weight resolution. Last night on TLC I watched this show about the "super morbidly obese" and I was horrified at all the health problems. This 29-year-old woman had a fatal heart attack two weeks after gastric bypass surgery, and this other guy was 1,031 pounds with the worst skin I've ever seen from bedsores. Doctors had to cut the fat off of his legs. I am overweight, but not that by that much.
I know how I got here: not enough sleep, not enough exercise, and too many times my schedule was too hectic to cook myself healthy food. I generally ended up grabbing something somewhere, and that's usually the worst option. Oh, and let's not forget my love for beer.
I think if I force myself to exercise for the first few days, my body will start to crave it. And I've always loved vegetables. Kimberly has started making several meals at once, saving some for the rest of the week when things get nuts and we're too exhausted to make a meal from scratch. I'm not averse to healthy food at all. In fact, I was on Weight Watchers the summer before my wedding, and I lost 10 pounds before things got even crazier and I fell off the wagon. I wish there was something geared for men, though. WW was nice, but the support groups were all women in their 40s and 50s. I have so little in common with them. Anyone kow of anything?

No comments: